State rankings
Wage Garnishment Laws by State
Wage Garnishment Laws by State: compare 51 US states on 1 metric.
Data
Click a column to sort.
51 states
Alabama | 25% of weekly disposable earnings Amount by which the debtor’s disposable earnings exceeds thirty (30) times the minimum wage. |
Alaska | Allowed by in an action on an express or implied contract |
Arizona | Wages and eamings are garnishable. 25% of the statutory net disposable earnings of debtor. Court may reduce to as low as 15% |
Arkansas | Federal garnishment rules and exemptions are used. |
California | 25% of the debtor’s net disposable earnings. Once the levy has been served on the employer by the sheriff or marshal, it remains in effect until the judgment has been paid in full |
Colorado | Gross earnings for the First Pay Period less deductions required by Law |
Connecticut | The maximum amount which can legally be withheld from a debtor’s wages is the lessor of: 25% of weekly disposable earnings or amount by which the debtor’s disposable earnings exceeds forty (40) times the higher of either |
Delaware | 15% of statutory net income. Garnishment remains in effect until the judgment is paid in full. Bank accounts cannot be garnished! |
| Garnishments are stacked and kept in place while the senior in time garnishment is paid off. 25% of disposable income can be attached by a wage garnishment. | |
Florida | Florida Statutes offers a significant exemption to wage garnishment known as the “head of family” exemption. |
Georgia | The maximum part of the aggregate disposable earnings of an individual for any work week which is subject to garnishment may not exceed the lesser of twenty-five percent (25%) of his disposable earnings for that week, or the amount by which his disposable earnings for that wee… |
Hawaii | The portion of the defendant’s after tax wages that must be withheld is 5% of the first $100 per month, 10% of the next $100.00 per month and 20% of all sums in excess of $200.00 per month, or an equivalent portion of these amounts per week. |
Idaho | The maximum part of an individual’s disposable earnings for the work week subject to garnishment may not exceed the lesser of 25% of the disposable earnings or the amount of the disposable earnings that exceed 30 times the federal minimum hourly wage |
Illinois | The maximum part of an individual’s disposable earnings for the work week that can be garnished is the greater of 15% of the disposable earnings or 45 times the amounts stated in section 4 of the state’s Minimum Wage Act |
Indiana | The maximum part of an individual’s aggregate disposable earnings for the workweek that is subject to garnishment in Indiana is the lesser of 25% of the disposable earnings or the amount of the disposable earnings that exceed 30 times the federal minimum hourly wage |
Iowa | Garnishments last for seventy days. The maximum part of an individual’s aggregate disposable earnings for the workweek that is subject to garnishment in Indiana is the lesser of 25% of the disposable earnings or The amount of the disposable earnings that exceed 40 times the fe… |
Kansas | The maximum part of an individual’s aggregate disposable earnings for the workweek that is subject to garnishment in Indiana is the lesser of 25% of the disposable earnings or the amount of the disposable earnings that exceed 30 times the federal minimum hourly wage or the amo… |
Kentucky | After a 10-day waiting period from date of judgment, a creditor may, using a pre-approved state form, file for wage garnishment to be issued by the clerk of the court, and an order of garnishment is then mailed to the garnishee employer. The employer has 20 days within which t… |
Louisiana | Louisiana uses the federal wage garnishment guidelines. Wage garnishments are effective immediatly on service of the garnishment on the employer. The amount withheld is 25% of disposable income. 401K or other retirenment funds are not counted as disposable income. Deductions a… |
Maine | Garnishment is available after a judgment issues and a splementary (Disclosure) hearing is held or If the debtor fails to appear at the Disclosure hearing, a garnishment order may issue for 25% of the debtors disposable earnings on a weekly basis or the amount which the dispos… |
Maryland | Disposable wages are defined as the amount of wages that remain after mandatory deductions required by law, plus medical insurance payments. The amount exempt is the greater of 75% of disposable wages, or $145 times the number of weeks in which the wages were earned |
Massachusetts | Wage attachments may be obtained by bringing an action under G.L. c. 246 for trustee process, based on a judgment only, usually after unsuccessful splementary process proceedings |
Michigan | Federal statute limits withhold to 25% of disposable earnings per week, unless the debtor’s earnings are at or near the minimum wage, 15 USC 1673, in which case no withholding is allowed. |
Minnesota | The maximum part of an individual’s disposable earnings for a pay period that can be garnished may not exceed the lesser of 25% of the disposable earnings or the amount of the disposable earnings that exceed 40 times the federal minimum hourly wage |
Mississippi | The first 30 days’ wages after service of garnishment are exempt. After 30 days, 75% of wages are exempt. Employer may withhold and pay when total judgment is collected but must pay at least once per year unless ordered otherwise. Garnishments are paid in the order they are se… |
Missouri | Missouri follows federal wage garnishment laws, which allow up to 25% of disposable earnings to be garnished, or the amount by which disposable earnings exceed 30 times the federal minimum wage, whichever is less. |
Montana | The maximum amount which can legally be withheld from a debtor’s wages is the lessor of: 25% of weekly disposable earnings or amount by which the debtor’s disposable earnings exceeds thirty (30) times the higher of either |
Nebraska | The maximum amount which can legally be withheld from a debtor’s wages is the lessor of: 25% of weekly disposable earnings or amount by which the debtor’s disposable earnings exceeds thirty (30) times the higher of either |
Nevada | The maximum amount which can legally be withheld from a debtor’s wages is the lessor of: 25% of weekly disposable earnings or amount by which the debtor’s disposable earnings exceeds fifty (50) times the higher of either |
New Hampshire | The maximum amount which can legally be withheld from a debtor’s wages is the lessor of: 25% of weekly disposable earnings or amount by which the debtor’s disposable earnings exceeds forty (40) times the higher of either |
New Jersey | The maximum amount which can legally be withheld from a debtor’s wages is the lessor of: 25% of weekly disposable earnings or amount by which the debtor’s disposable earnings exceeds forty (40) times the higher of either |
New Mexico | The maximum amount which can legally be withheld from a debtor’s wages is the lessor of: 25% of weekly disposable earnings or amount by which the debtor’s disposable earnings exceeds thirty (30) times the higher of either |
New York | The maximum amount which can legally be withheld from a debtor’s wages is the lessor of: 25% of weekly disposable earnings or amount by which the debtor’s disposable earnings exceeds thirty (30) times the higher of either |
North Carolina | The maximum amount which can legally be withheld from a debtor’s wages is the lessor of: 25% of weekly disposable earnings or amount by which the debtor’s disposable earnings exceeds thirty (30) times the higher of either |
North Dakota | The maximum amount which can legally be withheld from a debtor’s wages is the lessor of: 25% of weekly disposable earnings or amount by which the debtor’s disposable earnings exceeds forty (40) times the higher of either |
Ohio | The maximum amount which can legally be withheld from a debtor’s wages is the lessor of: 25% of weekly disposable earnings or amount by which the debtor’s disposable earnings exceeds thirty (30) times the higher of either |
Oklahoma | The maximum amount which can legally be withheld from a debtor’s wages is the lessor of: 25% of weekly disposable earnings or amount by which the debtor’s disposable earnings exceeds thirty (30) times the higher of either |
Oregon | The maximum amount which can legally be withheld from a debtor’s wages is the lessor of: 25% of weekly disposable earnings or amount by which the debtor’s disposable earnings exceeds forty (40) times the higher of either |
Pennsylvania | The maximum amount which can legally be withheld from a debtor’s wages is the lessor of: 25% of weekly disposable earnings or amount by which the debtor’s disposable earnings exceeds thirty (30) times the higher of either |
Rhode Island | The maximum amount which can legally be withheld from a debtor’s wages is the lessor of: 25% of weekly disposable earnings or amount by which the debtor’s disposable earnings exceeds forty (40) times the higher of either |
South Carolina | The maximum amount which can legally be withheld from a debtor’s wages is the lessor of: 25% of weekly disposable earnings or amount by which the debtor’s disposable earnings exceeds thirty (30) times the higher of either |
South Dakota | The maximum amount which can legally be withheld from a debtor’s wages is the lessor of: 25% of weekly disposable earnings or amount by which the debtor’s disposable earnings exceeds forty (40) times the higher of either |
Tennessee | Tennessee follows federal wage garnishment laws, which allow up to 25% of disposable earnings to be garnished, or the amount by which disposable earnings exceed 30 times the federal minimum wage, whichever is less. |
Texas | Texas has limitations on wage garnishment, with only a few types of debt being eligible for wage garnishment, such as child support, taxes, and student loans. For eligible debts, Texas follows federal wage garnishment laws, which allow up to 25% of disposable earnings to be ga… |
Utah | Utah follows federal wage garnishment laws, which allow up to 25% of disposable earnings to be garnished, or the amount by which disposable earnings exceed 30 times the federal minimum wage, whichever is less. |
Vermont | Vermont follows federal wage garnishment laws, which allow up to 25% of disposable earnings to be garnished, or the amount by which disposable earnings exceed 40 times the federal minimum wage, whichever is less. |
Virginia | Virginia follows federal wage garnishment laws, which allow up to 25% of disposable earnings to be garnished, or the amount by which disposable earnings exceed 40 times the federal minimum wage, whichever is less. |
Washington | Washington follows federal wage garnishment laws, which allow up to 25% of disposable earnings to be garnished, or the amount by which disposable earnings exceed 35 times the state minimum wage, whichever is less. |
West Virginia | West Virginia follows federal wage garnishment laws, which allow up to 25% of disposable earnings to be garnished, or the amount by which disposable earnings exceed 30 times the federal minimum wage, whichever is less. |
Wisconsin | Wisconsin follows federal wage garnishment laws, which allow up to 25% of disposable earnings to be garnished, or the amount by which disposable earnings exceed 30 times the federal minimum wage, whichever is less. |
Wyoming | Wyoming follows federal wage garnishment laws, which allow up to 25% of disposable earnings to be garnished, or the amount by which disposable earnings exceed 40 times the federal minimum wage, whichever is less. |
Quick answers
- Where does this wage garnishment laws by state data come from?
- Rankodex compiles it from World Population Review and the primary sources it cites: Wage Garnishments & Attachments.

















































