State rankings

Tiny House Laws by State

Tiny House Laws by State: compare 51 US states on 2 metrics.

CultureLaw51 states · 2 metricsUpdated Aug 25, 2024Original page
35 sources

Tiny House Legality

4 values across 51 entries

Data

Click a column to sort.

51 states
AlabamaLegalAlabama permits tiny houses on one's own property, in someone else's yard (with permission), or in an Alabama RV Park.
AlaskaIllegal—
ArizonaLegal—
ArkansasLegalAllows tiny homes in a residential area if they’re built from the ground up on the property with a foundation.
CaliforniaLegal—
ColoradoLegal—
ConnecticutLegal—
DelawareLegalDelaware requires owners of tiny houses on wheels to get titles within 30 days of buying them. Bigger tiny houses (8 feet or more in width, 40 feet or more in length and having more than 400 square feet) are considered mobile homes by the Delaware Department of Motor Vehicles.
District of ColumbiaLegalConstruction codes for the District of Columbia allow them, but only in specific neighborhoods, and only as accessory dwelling units.
FloridaLegal—
GeorgiaLegal—
HawaiiLegal—
IdahoLegal—
IllinoisLegal—
IndianaLegal—
IowaIllegal—
KansasLegal—
KentuckyLegal—
LouisianaIllegal—
MaineLegal—
MarylandLegal—
MassachusettsLegalA wheeled Tiny House is legally treated as a recreational vehicle (“RV”), mobile home, or trailer that must be registered with the state and used as such.
MichiganLegal—
MinnesotaLegal—
MississippiUnregulated—
MissouriLegalSpecial permits are not required for tiny houses on wSheels as long as the living area is less than 320 square feet.
MontanaLegal—
NebraskaLegal—
NevadaLegal—
New HampshireUnregulated—
New JerseyIllegal—
New MexicoLegalTiny houses constructed on a chassis with permanent axle shall be considered recreational vehicles and shall meet codes for and be licensed as recreational vehicles so long as the axle remain in place.
New YorkIllegal—
North CarolinaLegal—
North DakotaIllegal—
OhioLegalTiny houses aren't illegal in Ohio. However, the building laws do not necessarily make it easy to go tiny. They require a minimum of 950 square feet, which is not typical of tiny homes.
OklahomaUnregulated—
OregonLegal—
PennsylvaniaLegalTiny homes will be allowed where residential accessory uses and structures are permitted, and the lot where tiny homes are built will need to be to scale.
Rhode IslandLegal—
South CarolinaLegal—
South DakotaLegal with PermitIn South Dakota, you must get a building permit for a tiny house of at least 190 square feet. For each new occupant, you must add 50 square feet. The tiny house must also meet the building code requirements and be located in permitted residential neighborhoods. SD has made tre…
TennesseeLegalRequirements include that tiny homes have an area of at least 120 sq. ft. Tennessee Code Ann. § 68-126-303 establishes legal guidelines for tiny houses.
TexasLegal—
UtahLegalHowever, the lack of statewide rules makes living in a tiny home full-time in Utah a little more challenging. For instance, depending on where you live, you might have to pay a lot of money for a tiny house on wheels to be used permanently.
VermontLegalHowever, tiny homes must meet local zoning regulations and building codes before they are allowed. Some counties also restrict the size of tiny homes that you can build. Generally, a tiny home should be no more than 1,000 square feet and properly anchored to the ground.
VirginiaLegal—
WashingtonLegal—
West VirginiaIllegal—
WisconsinIllegal—
WyomingLegal—

Quick answers

Where does this tiny house laws by state data come from?
Rankodex compiles it from World Population Review and the primary sources it cites: Tiny House Laws in the United States; States That Allow Tiny Houses - Tiny House Society; Tiny House Regulations Arkansas - Homesteading How-To; Adorable as Affordable?: The Zoning Challenge of Tiny Houses - Boston Bar Association; Tiny houses in NH - Citizens Count.