State rankings
Termination Requirements by State
Termination Requirements by State: compare 51 US states on 5 metrics.
Data
Click a column to sort.
51 states
Alabama | No law exists | No law exists | — | — | All employees who become unemployed must be given a printed statement detailing how they can file for unemployment benefits. The easiest way to do this is to print and distribute Form UIB-1241A |
Alaska | Within 3 working days | Next scheduled payday that is at least three days after the employee gives notice | Alaska Statute § 23.05.140 | http://www.labor.state.ak.us/lss/forms/pam100.pdf | — |
Arizona | Within 7 working days or on next scheduled payday, whichever occurs first | Next scheduled payday | Arizona Revised Statute § 23-353 | http://www.azleg.gov/viewdocument/?docName=http://www.azleg.gov/ars/23/00353.htm | — |
Arkansas | Within 7 days | Next scheduled payday | Arkansas Code § 11-4-405 | http://law.justia.com/codes/arkansas/2010/title-11/chapter-4/subchapter-4/11-4-405 | — |
California | Immediately | Within 72 hours, unless employee has given more than 72 hours' notice, then, check must be given immediately | California Labor Code § 201 § 202 § 227.3 | http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?lawCode=LAB§ionNum=201. | All employees who are discharged, laid off, take a leave of absence, or have a similar change in their employment status must be given immediate written notice, along with Form DE 2320. Not required in the case of voluntary termination or if work is stopped due to a labor dispute |
Colorado | Immedately if the payroll unit is open when termination occurs, within 6 hours of the start of the next working day if payroll was closed, or within 24 hours if the payroll unit is offsite | Next scheduled payday | Colorado Revised Statute § 8-4-109 | https://law.justia.com/codes/colorado/2016/title-8/labor-i-department-of-labor-and-employment/article-4/section-8-4-109/ | — |
Connecticut | Next business day | Next scheduled payday | Connecticut General Statutes § 31-71c | https://www.ctdol.state.ct.us/wgwkstnd/laws-regs/DOL-74.pdf#sec31-71c.htm | All departing employees must be provided with Form UC-61, “Unemployment Separation Packet/Notice.” If distributing this form in person is impossible, it can be mailed to the last known address. Employers must also provide employees with a copy of their termination notice and i… |
Delaware | Next scheduled payday | Next scheduled payday | Delaware Code Annotated title 19, § 1103 | http://delcode.delaware.gov/title19/c011/index.shtml#1103 | — |
| Next business day | Next scheduled payday, or within seven days, whichever comes first | District of Columbia Code § 32-1303 | https://beta.code.dccouncil.us/dc/council/code/sections/32-1303.html | — | |
Florida | No law exists | No law exists | — | — | — |
Georgia | No law exists | No law exists | — | — | Regardless of the reason for separation, employers must complete form DOL-800. This form must be delivered to the employee, signed and dated on an employee’s last day of work or, if personal delivery is impossible, mailed to their last known address within three days |
Hawaii | Immediately, or next business day if there are conditions that prevent immediate payment | Next scheduled payday, unless employee gave at least one pay period's notice, then check must be given immediately | Hawaii Revised Statute § 388-3 | http://www.capitol.hawaii.gov/hrscurrent/vol07_ch0346-0398/hrs0388/HRS_0388-0003.htm | — |
Idaho | Next scheduled payday or within 10 days, whichever occurs first. If employee gives a written request for earlier payment, within 48 hours of receiving the request | Next scheduled payday, or within 10 days, whichever occurs first. However, if employee makes a written request for earlier payment, within 48 hours of receiving the request | Idaho Code § 45-606 § 45-617 | https://legislature.idaho.gov/statutesrules/idstat/Title45/T45CH6/SECT45-606/ | — |
Illinois | At the time of separation if possible, but in no case later than the next regularly scheduled payday | At the time of separation if possible, but in no case later than the next regularly scheduled payday | Illinois Compiled Statutes 820 ILCS 115/5 | http://www.ilga.gov/legislation/ilcs/ilcs3.asp?ActID=2402&ChapterID=68 | Employers must provide Form CLI111L to all employees separated from employment for seven or more days. The form must be delivered on an employee’s last day or sent to their last known address within 5 days |
Indiana | Next scheduled payday | Next scheduled payday | Indiana Code § 22-2-9-2 § 22-2-5-1 | http://iga.in.gov/static-documents/a/0/a/0/a0a02135/TITLE22_AR2_ch9.pdf | — |
Iowa | Next scheduled payday | Next scheduled payday | Iowa Code § 91A.4 | https://coolice.legis.iowa.gov/Cool-ICE/default.asp?category=billinfo&service=IowaCode&ga=83&input=91A.4 | When an employee leaves or refuses employment and the employer believes they are not qualified for unemployment benefits, the employer must complete a Notice of Separation form, 60‑0154. The Notice of Separation can also be filed online at https://uiclaims.iwd.iowa.gov/Employe… |
Kansas | Next scheduled payday | Next scheduled payday | Kansas Statute § 44-315 | http://www.kslegislature.org/li_2016/b2015_16/statute/044_000_0000_chapter/044_003_0000_article/044_003_0015_section/044_003_0015_k/ | — |
Kentucky | Next scheduled payday or within 14 days, whichever occurs later | Next scheduled payday, or within 14 days, whichever occurs later. | Kentucky Revised Statute § 337.055 | https://apps.legislature.ky.gov/law/statutes/statute.aspx?id=32050 | — |
Louisiana | Next scheduled payday, or within 15 days, whichever occurs earlier | Next scheduled payday, or within 15 days, whichever occurs earlier | Louisiana Revised Statute § 23:631 | http://www.legis.la.gov/Legis/Law.aspx?d=83945 | Employers must file (online only) a separation notice within three days of the date of separation. This documentation includes an explanation of the cause of separation and details of payments made to the employee |
Maine | Next scheduled payday or within two weeks after a demand from the employee, whichever comes first | Next scheduled payday or within two weeks after a demand from the employee, whichever is earlier | Maine Revised Statute tit. 26 § 626 | http://legislature.maine.gov/statutes/26/title26sec626.html | — |
Maryland | Next scheduled payday | Next scheduled payday | Maryland Labor and Employment Code § 3-505 | https://resources.lawinfo.com/wages/maryland/ | Employers must provide separated employees a notice of unemployment availability |
Massachusetts | Immediately | Next scheduled payday or, if there is no scheduled payday, on the Saturday that follows an employee's resignation | Massachusetts Laws ch. 149 § 148 | https://malegislature.gov/Laws/GeneralLaws/PartI/TitleXXI/Chapter149/Section148 | All employees separated from work, whether temporary or permanent, must be provided with Form 0590-A. This form must be delivered in person or sent to the employee’s last known address as soon as possible and within 30 days of separation |
Michigan | Next scheduled payday | Next scheduled payday | Michigan Compensation Laws § 408.474 § 408.475 | http://www.legislature.mi.gov/(S(4q3wrjn4batzsfowitmexgdv))/mileg.aspx?page=GetObject&objectname=mcl-408-474 | Form UIA 1711 must be provided at the time of separation unless employers are filing claims on behalf of the employee. Exception: Not necessary if a copy of the form has been previously delivered to the employee or if a written statement detailing the equivalent information is… |
Minnesota | Immediately | Next scheduled payday. However, if the payday is less than five days after the last day that the employee works, the employer must pay on the next payday or 20 days after the employee's last day of work, whichever is earlier | Minnesota Statute § 181.13 § 181.14 | https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=181.14 | — |
Mississippi | No law exists | No law exists | — | — | Employers must have an unemployment law poster clearly visible to employees |
Missouri | Immediately | No law exists | Missouri Revised Statute § 290.110 | http://www.moga.mo.gov/mostatutes/stathtml/29000001101.html | Employers must provide separating employees with Form M-INF-288-5 |
Montana | Immediately. The employer has the option of maintaining a written policy that extends this time to earlier of next scheduled payday or 15 days | Next scheduled payday or within 15 days, whichever is earlier | Montana Code § 39-3-205 | https://erd.dli.mt.gov/labor-standards/wage-and-hour-payment-act/wage-and-hour-faq | — |
Nebraska | Earlier of next scheduled payday or two weeks | Next scheduled payday or within two weeks, whichever occurs first | Nebraska Revised Statute § 48-1230 | http://nebraskalegislature.gov/laws/statutes.php?statute=48-1230 | — |
Nevada | Immediately | Next scheduled payday or within seven days, whichever occurs first | Nevada Revised Statute § 608.020 | http://www.leg.state.nv.us/nrs/nrs-608.html#NRS608Sec200 | Notice DETR-ESD must be provided to all departing employees |
New Hampshire | Within 72 hours. However, if employee is laid off, may be next scheduled payday | Next scheduled payday or within 72 hours (if the employee gave at least one pay period's notice) | New Hampshire Revised Statute § 275:44 | http://www.gencourt.state.nh.us/rsa/html/XXIII/275/275-44.htm | — |
New Jersey | Next scheduled payday | Next scheduled payday | New Jersey Statute § 34:11-4.3 | http://www.nj.gov/labor/wagehour/lawregs/selected_nj_state_labor_law.html#1143 | Regardless of the reason for separation, all employees who will be separated from employment for at least 7 days must be provided with Form BC-10. This form must be provided at the time of separation |
New Mexico | Within 5 days | Next scheduled payday | New Mexico Statute § 50-4-4 § 50-4-5 | https://www.lawinfo.com/resources/wages/new-mexico/ | — |
New York | Next scheduled payday | Next scheduled payday | New York Labor Law § 191 | https://www.lawinfo.com/resources/wages/new-york/what-are-rules-on-final-paychecks-in-new-york.html#:~:text=New%20York%20law%20(New%20York,when%20the%20employee%20was%20fired. | All employers subject to the state’s unemployment law must inform employees of their right to apply for unemployment benefits. Regardless of the reason for separation, Form IA 12.3 must be completed for all employees who will be separated from employment for an expected period… |
North Carolina | Next scheduled payday | Next scheduled payday | North Carolina General Statute § 95.25.7 | http://www.ncga.state.nc.us/EnactedLegislation/Statutes/HTML/BySection/Chapter_95/GS_95-25.7.html | — |
North Dakota | Earlier of next scheduled payday or 15 days | Next scheduled payday | Noth Dakota Century Code § 34-14-03 | http://www.legis.nd.gov/cencode/t34c14.pdf | — |
Ohio | No law exists | On the first day of the month for wages that were earned in the first half of the prior month, or on the fifteenth day of the month for wages earned in the second half of the prior month | Ohio Revised Code § 4113.15 | http://codes.ohio.gov/orc/4113.15v1 | — |
Oklahoma | Next scheduled payday | Next scheduled payday | Oklahoma State tit. 40 § 165.3 | https://www.lawinfo.com/resources/wages/oklahoma/what-are-the-rules-on-final-paychecks-in-okla.html | — |
Oregon | Next business day | Immediately, if the employee has given at least 48 hours' notice. If employee does not give notice, final check must be given within five days or Next scheduled payday, whichever occurs first | Oregon Revised Statute § 652.140 | https://www.oregon.gov/boli/TA/pages/t_faq_tafinpay.aspx | — |
Pennsylvania | Next scheduled payday | Next scheduled payday | Pennsylvania Consolidated Statute § 260.5 | https://govt.westlaw.com/pac/Document/NBF47FC30344311DA8A989F4EECDB8638?viewType=FullText&originationContext=documenttoc&transitionType=CategoryPageItem&contextData=(sc.Default) | All employers must notify separating employees of the availability of unemployment compensation. Form UC-1609 details the various pieces of information that must be provided |
Rhode Island | Next scheduled payday | Next scheduled payday | Rhode Island General Law § 28-14-4 | http://webserver.rilin.state.ri.us/Statutes/title28/28-14/28-14-4.HTM | All employers must provide notice to separating employees of the availability of unemployment compensation at the time of the employee’s separation from employment |
South Carolina | Within 48 hours or on next scheduled payday, but not more than 30 days later | No law exists | South Carolina Codified Law § 41-10-50 | http://www.scstatehouse.gov/code/t41c010.php | All employers must provide separating employees with a “Notice of the Availability of Unemployment Insurance Benefits.” This documentation can be provided in person, by mail, by text message, or email |
South Dakota | Next scheduled payday or when the employee returns the employer's property | Next scheduled payday or when the employee returns the employer's property | South Dakota Codified Law § 60-11-10 § 60-11-14 | http://www.sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=60-11-14 | — |
Tennessee | Later of next scheduled payday or 21 days | Next scheduled payday or within 21 days, whichever is later | Tennessee Code § 50-2-103 | http://law.justia.com/codes/tennessee/2010/title-50/chapter-2/part-1/50-2-103 | Within 1 day of separation, employers must provide departing employees with Form LB-0489, unless the employee has been employed less than a week or will be recalled within a week. Employers must complete Form LB-0489 unless they have separately arranged to submit the date and … |
Texas | Within 6 days | Next scheduled payday | Texas Code, Labor § 61.014 | http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/Docs/LA/htm/LA.61.htm | — |
Utah | Within 24 hours | Within 24 hours | Utah Code § 34-28-5 | https://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title34/Chapter28/34-28-S5.html?v=C34-28-S5_2015051220150512 | — |
Vermont | Within 72 hours | Next scheduled payday, or on the next Friday if there are no scheduled paydays | Vermont Statute tit. 21 § 342 | http://legislature.vermont.gov/statutes/section/21/005/00342 | — |
Virginia | Next scheduled payday | Next scheduled payday | Virginia Code § 40.1-29 | https://resources.lawinfo.com/wages/virginia/ | — |
Washington | Next scheduled payday | Next scheduled payday | Washington Revised Code § 49.48.010 | http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=49.48.010 | — |
West Virginia | Within 72 hours | Immediately if the employee has given at least one pay period's notice. If the employee has not provided such notice, next scheduled payday | West Virginia Code § 21-5-4 | http://www.legis.state.wv.us/wvcode/ChapterEntire.cfm?chap=21&art=5§ion=4 | — |
Wisconsin | Earlier of next scheduled payday or one month. If the termination is a result of a merger, relocation or liquidation of the business, final check must be given within 24 hours | Next scheduled payday | Wisconsin Statute § 109.03 | https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/109/03 | — |
Wyoming | Within 5 business days | Within 5 business days | Wyoming Statute § 27-4-104 | http://law.justia.com/codes/wyoming/2011/title27/chapter4/section27-4-104 | — |
Quick answers
- Where does this termination requirements by state data come from?
- Rankodex compiles it from World Population Review and the primary sources it cites: Final Paycheck Laws by State - Clicktime; State Requirements for Separation Notices - Paycor; Separation Notice Requirements by State - Experian.

















































