State rankings
Pseudoephedrine Laws by State
Pseudoephedrine Laws by State: compare 50 US states on 2 metrics.
Pseudoephedrine Restriction Type
8 values across 50 entries
Data
Click a column to sort.
50 states
Alabama | Daily & Monthly | No person shall deliver, sell, or purchase products sold over-the-counter that contain a combined total of more than 3.6 grams per calendar day or more than 7.5 grams per 30 days, of ephedrine base or pseudoephedrine base. The purchaser must be 18 years of age and present a va… |
Alaska | Monthly Limit | Products dispensed pursuant to prescription are not subject to purchase and possession limits. No person may purchase or possess more than 6 g of PSE, EPH or PPA per 30 days unless dispensed pursuant to a prescription |
Arizona | Daily & Monthly | A retailer shall not sell to the same person, and a person shall not purchase, products containing more than 3.6 grams per day or more than 9 grams per 30- day period of ephedrine or pseudoephedrine base |
Arkansas | Monthly Limit | No more than 3 packages containing one or more products; or a single package containing more than 96 pills, tablets, gelcaps, capsules or other individual units in any 30-day period. Purchaser must be at least 18 years old |
California | Daily Limit | No retailer may sell in a single transaction more than 3 packages or 9 grams of a product containing EPH, PSE, NPSE or PPA |
Colorado | Daily Limit | Purchases of EPH, PSE and PPA products are limited to 3.6 grams or a combination of two or more methamphetamine precursor drugs per person within a 24 hour period |
Connecticut | Federal Law | There are no state laws or regulations of OTC sales of PSE products in Connecticut. Applicable Federal laws and rules are observed |
Delaware | Monthly Limit | No more than 9 g within a 30-day period |
Florida | Daily Limit | In any single day, a person may not knowingly obtain or deliver to an individual through an OTC (retail) sale any number of packages of a nonprescription compound, mixture, or preparation containing more than 3.6 grams of PSE/EPH/PPA |
Georgia | Daily & Monthly | No person shall distribute or purchase any nonprescription product containing more than 3.6 grams of ephedrine or pseudoephedrine per day in dosage form or more than 9 grams of ephedrine or pseudoephedrine per 30 day period in dosage form of any product |
Hawaii | Daily & Monthly | Products containing no more than 3.6 grams per day and 9 grams per 30 days |
Idaho | Daily Limit | Unlawful for any retailer to knowingly sell, transfer or furnish more than 3.6 grams of PSE in a single day |
Illinois | Monthly Limit | No retail distributor operating a pharmacy, and no pharmacist or pharmacy technician, shall knowingly distribute to a single person in any 30-day period products containing more than a total of 7,500 milligrams of ephedrine or pseudoephedrine, their salts or optical isomers, o… |
Indiana | Daily & Monthly | No person may purchase products containing more than 3.6 grams of EPH, PSE or both in one day, or more than 7.2 grams of EPH or PSE or both in a 30 day |
Iowa | Daily Limit | Retailer or employee of retailer may not knowingly sell more than one package containing 3.6 mg of PSE to a person in a twenty-four-hour period |
Kansas | Pharmacy Only | Products may only be sold or distributed in a licensed pharmacy by a licensed pharmacist, a registered pharmacy technician or a pharmacy intern or student supervised by a licensed pharmacist |
Kentucky | Monthly Limit | Consumers may not purchase more than 7.2 g of EPH, PSE or PPA in solid dose products to an individual within a 30 day period |
Louisiana | Monthly Limit | May not sell or distribute in a quantity greater than 9g of EPH, PSE, and PPA within a 30 day period |
Maine | Daily Limit | Retailer may not sell to the same person a targeted methamphetamine precursor that causes the sales to that person of targeted methamphetamine precursors within a 24-hour period to exceed 3.6 grams |
Maryland | Federal Law | There are no state laws or regulations of OTC sales of PSE products in Maryland. Applicable Federal laws and rules are observed |
Massachusetts | Federal Law | There are no state laws or regulations of OTC sales of PSE products in Massachusetts. Applicable Federal laws and rules are observed |
Michigan | Daily Limit | May not sell more 3.6 grams of EPH or PSE alone or in a mixture to any individual on any single calendar day |
Minnesota | Monthly Limit | Single transactions limited to no more than 2 packages or 6 grams. Purchaser may not acquire more than 6 grams per 30 days |
Mississippi | Prescription required | May only dispensed pursuant to valid prescription of a practitioner |
Missouri | Daily Limit | 3.6 grams per person per 24 hour period for all products without regard to the number of transactions |
Montana | Monthly Limit | Sales limited to no more than 9 grams of nonexempt PSE or EPH products per thirty days |
Nebraska | Daily Limit | No more than 3.6 g of PSE/ PPA/EPH to be sold to or purchased by a customer per 24 hours |
Nevada | Daily Limit | A retail distributor may not sell or transfer to the same person in the same calendar day more than 3.6 grams of EPH base |
New Hampshire | Illegal | No person shall knowingly and unlawfully possess a drug product containing pseudoephedrine, or phenylpropanolamine with the intent to use the product as a precursor to manufacture methamphetamine or another controlled substance |
New Jersey | Monthly Limit | Sales of single entity and combination EPH, PSE and PPA products are limited to three packages or any number of packages that contain a total of nine grams of PSE |
New Mexico | Daily & Monthly | Purchases are limited to 3.6 grams per day and no more than 9 grams per 30 days |
New York | Federal Law | There are no state laws or regulations of OTC sales of PSE products in New York. Applicable Federal laws and rules are observed |
North Carolina | Daily Limit | Per calendar day: No person may purchase or deliver more than 3.6 grams of any nonexempt PSE or EPH product per transaction unless sold pursuant to a prescription |
North Dakota | Daily Limit | Sales limited to packages of no more than 2 grams of one or more scheduled listed chemical products calculated in terms of PSE base. Daily sales without regard to the number of over the counter sales limited to no more than 3.6 grams. No sales to person under 18 years old. |
Ohio | Daily & Monthly | Purchases are limited to 3.6 grams per day and no more than 9 grams per 30 days |
Oklahoma | Daily & Monthly | Sales limited to 3.6 g of any product, mixture, or preparation per day and 7.2 g of product, mixture, or preparation per 30-day period |
Oregon | Monthly Limit | A person commits the crime of unlawful distribution if the person sells or otherwise transfers EPH, PSE or PPA products in violation of board rules or more than 9 grams to a person other than a veterinarian, physician, pharmacist, retail distributor, wholesaler, manufacturer, … |
Pennsylvania | Storage Limits | PSE products must be stored behind a counter where the public is not permitted |
Rhode Island | Federal Law | There are no state laws or regulations of OTC sales of PSE products in Rhode Island. Applicable Federal laws and rules are observed |
South Carolina | Daily Limit | Retailer may not sell to an individual in any single day more than 3.6g of PSE. |
South Dakota | Monthly Limit | No person may purchase, and no retailer may sell, in a single transaction, more than 2 packages of PSE. No person may possess, receive, or otherwise acquire more than 9 grams of EPH base, PSE base, or (PPA) base in any product within any 30-day period |
Tennessee | Monthly Limit | Sales limited to 3 packages of non-exempt products or no more than 9 g of any PSE product (weight limit applies to total amount of PSE ) per 30 days |
Texas | Daily & Monthly | Per person OTC purchases are limited to 3.6 grams of PSE per calendar day and 9 grams per 30 days |
Utah | Daily Limit | Sales limited to 3.6 grams of EPH, PSE or PPA, regardless of the number of transactions, during any 24-hour period. |
Vermont | Daily & Monthly | Retailers may not knowingly sell an individual customer more than 3.6 grams PSE per 24-hours or 9 grams per 30 days |
Virginia | Daily & Monthly | Pharmacy or retail distributor shall be limited to no more than 3.6 grams per day and 9 grams per 30-day period per individual customer |
Washington | Daily & Monthly | No pharmacy or retail may sell in a single transaction a total of more than 3.6 grams in any 24-hour period or more than 9 grams per purchaser in any 30 day period. |
West Virginia | Daily & Monthly | May be sold, delivered, or provided only in licensed pharmacies, behind the pharmacy counter, by a pharmacist, registered pharmacy intern, or registered pharmacy technician, Limited to NO more than 3.6 g per day, 7.2 g in a 30 day period |
Wisconsin | Daily Limit | May not sell more than 4 ounces per 48 hours of a product containing PSE |
Wyoming | Daily & Monthly | No person shall obtain more than 3.6 grams per calendar day or 9 grams during any 30 day period. |
Quick answers
- Where does this pseudoephedrine laws by state data come from?
- Rankodex compiles it from World Population Review and the primary sources it cites: PSE Laws - National Association of Chain Drug Stores; Home - National Association Of Chain Drug Stores.

















































