State rankings
Lunch Break Laws by State
Lunch Break Laws by State: compare 51 US states on 2 metrics.
Lunch Break Duration
12 values across 38 entries
Data
Click a column to sort.
41 states
Alabama | At least 30 minutes | Covered: 14- and 15-year-old employees who work more than 5 consecutive hours |
Alaska | At least 30 minutes | Covered: Those under 18 scheduled to work for 5 consecutive hours without a break |
Arkansas | 30 to 60 minutes | Covered: Minors in the entertainment industry, They also must have at least a 10-hour break between work days |
California | At least 30 minutes | Covered: Non-exempt employees who work 5+ hours a day (break = 30 minutes). Covered: Non-exempt employees who work 10+ hours a day get a second 30-minute unpaid meal break. Note: This second break can be waived by mutual consent if the total hours worked are less than 12 hours… |
Colorado | At least 30 minutes | Covered: Employees covered by Colorado’s Minimum Wage Order who work 5+ hours Note: Additionally, workers get a 10-minute paid rest break for every 4 hours worked |
Connecticut | At least 30 minutes | Covered: Non-exempt employees who work at least 7.5 hours |
Delaware | At least 30 minutes | Covered: Employees 18+ who work at least 7.5 hours and employees under 18 scheduled to work 5 hours |
Florida | At least 30 minutes | Covered: Non-exempt employees under 18 who work at least 4 hours |
Hawaii | At least 30 minutes | Covered: 14- and 15-year-old employees who work 5 consecutive hours |
Illinois | Varies by age | Covered: Employees who work 7.5 hours or longer (30 minutes) and employees under 16 who work 5+ hours (20 minutes) |
Indiana | 1-2 breaks totaling 30 minutes | Covered: Employees under 18 who work 6+ hours |
Iowa | At least 30 minutes | Covered: Employees under 16 who work 5+ hours |
Kansas | At least 30 minutes if unpaid | Note: Meal breaks lasting less than 30 minutes are taken on the clock. |
Kentucky | Varies by age | Covered: Minors who work 4+ hours (30 minutes.) and non-exempt employees 18+ who work 5+ hours (a "reasonable period") |
Louisiana | At least 30 minutes unpaid | Covered: Non-exempt employees under 18 who work 5 consecutive hours |
Maine | At least 30 minutes | Covered: Employees who work 6+ hours |
Maryland | At least 30 minutes | Covered: Certain retail employees who work 6+ hours a day (30-minute) and non-exempt employees under 18 who work 5 consecutive hours (30 minutes minimum). Note: Employees working 8+ hours also earn paid 15-minute breaks for every 4 hours. |
Massachusetts | At least 30 minutes | Covered: Non-exempt employees who work 6+ hours |
Michigan | At least 30 minutes | Covered: Employees under 18 who work 5+ hours |
Minnesota | Undefined, but required | Covered: Employees who work 8+ hours Note: Employees who work 8+ hours must be given a break long enough to eat a meal. Employees working 4+ hours must get a break long enough to use the restroom. |
Missouri | — | Covered: Minors in the entertainment industry appear to be the only covered class Note: Meal break after 5.5 hours of work plus a 15-minute rest break for every 2 hours of work |
Nebraska | At least 30 minutes per 8-hour shift | Covered: Employees of an assembling plant, workshop or mechanical establishment |
Nevada | At least 30 minutes | Covered: Employees working 8+ hours Note: Employees who work 3.5+ hours earn a break of 10 consecutive minutes every 4 hours |
New Hampshire | At least 30 minutes | Employees who work 5+ hours |
New Jersey | At least 30 minutes | Employees under 18 who work 5+ hours |
New Mexico | — | Note: Employees are not entitled to meal or rest breaks. However, in cases in which breaks are given, those lasting fewer than 20 minutes must be paid. Employees can be required to clock out for breaks lasting 30 minutes or longer. |
New York | At least 30-60 minutes (profession-dependent) | Covered: Factory employees are allowed at least 60 minutes. Those engaged in other occupations are allowed at least 30 minutes. Note: Workers whose shifts last more than 6 hours are entitled to at least 30 minutes off during that time. Note: Workers whose shifts start before 1… |
North Carolina | At least 30 minutes | Covered: Employees under 16 who work shifts of 5+ hours |
North Dakota | At least 30 minutes | Covered: Employees who work 5+ hours |
Ohio | At least 30 minutes | Covered: Employees under 18 for every 5 hours worked |
Oklahoma | At least 30 minutes | Covered: Employees under 16 who work 5+ hours |
Oregon | At least 30 minutes (clocked out) or 20-30 minutes (clocked in) | Covered: Employees who have worked for 6+ hours Note: Employees also earn a break of 10 (adult) or 15 (under 18) minutes for each 4 hours worked. |
Pennsylvania | At least 30 minutes | Covered: Seasonal farm workers for every 5 hours worked Covered: Minors under 18 for every 5 hours worked |
Rhode Island | At least 20-30 minutes | Covered: Employees who work 6+ hours Note: Break length is at least 20 minutes for 6-hour shifts and 30 minutes for shifts lasting 8+ hours. |
Tennessee | At least 30 minutes | Covered: Employees who work 6+ hours |
Utah | At least 30 minutes | Covered: Employees under 18 for every 5 hours worked Note: Employees under 18 also earn a 10-minute break for every 3 hours or part thereof worked |
Vermont | — | Employers must provide a “reasonable opportunity” to eat and use the restroom. This opportunity must be paid if it is less than 30 minutes |
Virginia | At least 30 minutes | Employees under 16 who work 5+ hours |
Washington | At least 30 minutes | Covered: Employees whose shifts last 5+ hours. Some professions, such as agricultural and construction workers, and workers under the age of 18 may have additional guidelines. Note: Workers on shifts 3+ hours longer than their regular workday earn a second 30-minute meal break… |
West Virginia | At least 20 minutes | Employees who work 6+ hours get a meal break |
Wisconsin | At least 30 minutes | Covered: Employees under 18 working 6+ hours |
Quick answers
- Where does this lunch break laws by state data come from?
- Rankodex compiles it from World Population Review and the primary sources it cites: Paycor; California Department of Industrial Relations; California Department of Industrial Relations - Meal periods; US Department of Labor - Minimum Length of Meal Period Required under State Law for Adult Employees in Private Sector 1.








































