State rankings
Late Fee Laws By State
Late Fee Laws By State: compare 51 US states on 2 metrics.
Grace Period
10 values across 51 entries
Data
Click a column to sort.
51 states
Alabama | 7 | No Limit |
Alaska | 7 | No Limit |
Arizona | 5 | No Limit except for mobile homes, which are limited to $5 per day |
Arkansas | None specified | No Limit |
California | None specified | No Limit |
Colorado | None specified | $50 or 5% of the rent amount due, whichever is greater |
Connecticut | 9 | No Limit |
Delaware | 5 | 5% of monthly rent |
| 5 | 5% of monthly rent | |
Florida | None specified | No Limit |
Georgia | None specified | No Limit |
Hawaii | None specified | 8% of the monthly rent |
Idaho | None specified | No Limit |
Illinois | None specified | $20 or 20% of the monthly rent, whichever is greater |
Indiana | None specified | No Limit |
Iowa | None specified | $12 per day or $60 per month if the rent is less than $700. If the rent is over $700, the limit is $20 per day or $100 per month |
Kansas | None specified | No Limit |
Kentucky | None specified | No Limit |
Louisiana | None specified | No Limit |
Maine | 15 | 4% of the monthly rent |
Maryland | None specified | 5% of the monthly rent |
Massachusetts | 30 | No Limit |
Michigan | None specified | No Limit |
Minnesota | None specified | 8% of the overdue rent amount |
Mississippi | None specified | No Limit |
Missouri | None specified | No Limit |
Montana | None specified | No Limit |
Nebraska | None specified | No Limit |
Nevada | 3 | 5% of the monthly rent |
New Hampshire | None specified | Limited to the amount of rent |
New Jersey | 5 days for senior citizens, no grace period for others | No Limit |
New Mexico | None specified | 10% of the monthly rent |
New York | 5 | 5% of the monthly rent or $50, whichever is less (rent-controlled property may have different rules) |
North Carolina | None specified | 5% or $4 for week-to-week leases, whichever is greater, or 5% or $15 for monthly leases, whichever is greater |
North Dakota | None specified | No Limit |
Ohio | None specified | No Limit |
Oklahoma | None specified | No Limit |
Oregon | 4 | 5% of the monthly rent |
Pennsylvania | None specified | No Limit |
Rhode Island | None specified | No Limit |
South Carolina | None specified | No Limit |
South Dakota | None specified | No Limit |
Tennessee | 5 | 10% of the monthly rent or $30, whichever is greater |
Texas | 2 | $12 of the monthly rent for properties with 4 or less rental units and 10% of the monthly rent for structures with 4 or more rental units |
Utah | None specified | No Limit |
Vermont | None specified | Limited to the costs incurred to the landlord by the rent being late |
Virginia | 5 | No more than 10% of the monthly rent or 10% of the unpaid balance, whichever is less. |
Washington | None specified | No Limit |
West Virginia | None specified | No Limit |
Wisconsin | 5 | $20 or 20% of the monthly rent, whichever is greater |
Wyoming | None specified | No Limit |
Quick answers
- Where does this late fee laws by state data come from?
- Rankodex compiles it from World Population Review and the primary sources it cites: Maximum Late Fees by State: The Ultimate Guide - Landlord Studio.

















































