State rankings
Homeschool Laws by State
Homeschool Laws by State: compare 51 US states on 2 metrics.
Compulsory Attendance
13 values across 49 entries
Data
Click a column to sort.
50 states
Alabama | Ages 7-16 | 180 days |
Alaska | Ages 7-16 | — |
Arizona | Ages 6-16 | — |
Arkansas | Ages 6-16 | — |
California | — | variable |
Colorado | Ages 7-16 | 172 days, minimum 4 hours each |
Connecticut | Ages 7-17 | 180 days |
Delaware | Ages 5-16 | — |
Florida | Ages 6-16 | — |
Georgia | Ages 6-16 | 180 days, minimum 4.5 hours each |
Hawaii | Ages 6-18 | none, but hours must be tracked |
Idaho | Ages 7-16 | — |
Illinois | Ages 6-17 | — |
Indiana | Age 7 until graduation | 180 days |
Iowa | Ages 6-16 | 148 days, minimum 37 per quarter |
Kansas | Ages 7-18 | 186 days, 6 hours each |
Kentucky | Ages 6-18 | 185 days |
Louisiana | Ages 6-18 | 180 days |
Maine | Ages 6-17 | 175 days |
Maryland | Ages 5-16 | — |
Massachusetts | Ages 6-16 | — |
Michigan | Ages 6-18 | — |
Minnesota | Ages 7-17 | — |
Mississippi | Ages 6-17 | 180 days |
Missouri | Ages 7-17 | 1000 hours |
Montana | Ages 7-16 | 360 k, 720 g1-3, 1080 g4-12 |
Nebraska | Ages 6-16 | 1032 elem, 1080 secondary |
Nevada | Ages 7-18 | — |
New Hampshire | Ages 6-18 | — |
New Jersey | Ages 6-16 | — |
New Mexico | Ages 5-18 | 180 days, total of 990 hours k-6, 1080 hours 7-12 |
New York | Ages 6-16 | 180 days, total of 900 hours 1-6, 990 hours 7-12 |
North Carolina | Ages 7-16 | 9 months |
North Dakota | Ages 7-16 | 175 days, minimum 4 hours each |
Ohio | Ages 6-18 | 900 hours |
Oklahoma | Ages 5-18 | 180 days (recommended) |
Oregon | Ages 6-18 | — |
Pennsylvania | Ages 8-17 | 180 days, total of 900 hours k-6, 990 hours 7-12 |
Rhode Island | Ages 6-18 | 180 days, minimum 5.5 hours each |
South Carolina | Ages 5-17 | 180 days, minimum 4.5 hours each |
South Dakota | Up to 18 | 437 hours k, 875 hours 1-5, 962 hours 6-12 |
Tennessee | Ages 6-17 | 180 days, minimum 4 hours each |
Texas | Ages 6-18 | — |
Utah | Ages 6-18 | — |
Vermont | Ages 6-16 | — |
Virginia | Ages 5-18 | 180 days |
Washington | Ages 8-18 | 180 days, total 1000 hours |
West Virginia | Ages 6-16 | Equal to county requirements |
Wisconsin | Ages 6-18 | 875 hours |
Wyoming | Ages 7-16 | — |
Quick answers
- Where does this homeschool laws by state data come from?
- Rankodex compiles it from World Population Review and the primary sources it cites: State Homeschooling Laws - Homeschool; Homeschool Laws in Your State - HSLDA.

















































