State rankings
Motorcycle Helmet Laws by State
Motorcycle Helmet Laws by State: compare 51 US states on 3 metrics.
Required To Wear Helmet
7 values across 51 entries
Motorcycle Type Vehicles Not Covered
7 values across 51 entries
Data
Click a column to sort.
51 states
Alabama | All riders | All are covered | — |
Alaska | 17 and younger | All are covered | Alaska's motorcycle helmet use law covers passengers of all ages, operators younger than 18, and operators with instructional permits. |
Arizona | 17 and younger | Mopeds not covered | Mopeds are defined as having an engine displacement of 50cc or less, brake horsepower of 1.5 or less, and a maximum speed of 25 mph. |
Arkansas | 20 and younger | All are covered | — |
California | All riders | All are covered | — |
Colorado | 17 and younger (inc. passengers) | All are covered | — |
Connecticut | 20 and younger | All are covered | — |
Delaware | 18 and younger (inc. passengers); novice riders & passengers for two years after endorsement | Mopeds not covered | Moped, defined by the state as a pedal or non-pedal bicycle having two tandem wheels and an engine displacement of less than 55cc or an electric motor rated between 751 and 2000 watts, if the operator is 17 or older, In Delaware, every motorcycle operator or rider age 19 and … |
| All riders | All are covered | — | |
Florida | 20 and younger | Mopeds not covered | In Florida, the law requires that all riders younger than 21 years wear helmets, without exception. Those 21 years and older may ride without helmets only if they can show proof that they are covered by a medical insurance policy., Mopeds are defined as having an engine displ… |
Georgia | All riders | Mopeds not covered | Mopeds are defined as having an engine displacement of 50cc or less, brake horsepower of 2 or less and maximum speed on 30 mph. |
Hawaii | 17 and younger | All are covered | — |
Idaho | 17 and younger | Mopeds not covered | Mopeds are defined as having an engine displacement of 50cc or less, brake horsepower of less than 2, and maximum speed of 30 mph. |
Illinois | No law | No law | — |
Indiana | 17 and younger | All are covered | — |
Iowa | No law | No law | — |
Kansas | 17 and younger | All are covered | — |
Kentucky | 20 and younger | Mopeds not covered | In Kentucky, motorcycle helmet laws also cover operators with instructional/learner's permits., Mopeds are defined as having an engine displacement of 50cc or less, brake horsepower of 2 or less, and maximum speed of 30 mph. |
Louisiana | All riders | All are covered | — |
Maine | 17 and younger | Motorized bicycles not covered | Motorcycle helmet laws in Maine cover operators with instructional/learner's permits and operators in their first year of licensure. Maine's motorcycle helmet use law also covers passengers 17 and younger and passengers riding with operators who are required to wear a helmet. … |
Maryland | All riders | All are covered | — |
Massachusetts | All riders | All are covered | — |
Michigan | 20 and younger | Mopeds not covered | In Michigan, the law requires that all riders younger than 21 wear helmets, without exception., Those 21 and older may ride without helmets only if they carry additional insurance and have passed a motorcycle safety course or have had their motorcycle endorsement for at least… |
Minnesota | 17 and younger | All are covered | Motorcycle helmet laws in Minnesota cover operators with instructional/learner's permits. |
Mississippi | All riders | All are covered | — |
Missouri | 25 and younger | Motorized bicycles not covered | In Missouri, riders younger than 26 and instruction permit holders, regardless of age, must wear protective headgear when the vehicle is in motion., Operators who are 26 and older may operate a motorcycle without protective headgear if they maintain proof of financial respons… |
Montana | 17 and younger | All are covered | — |
Nebraska | 20 and younger | All are covered | In Nebraska, the law requires that all riders younger than 21 wear helmets., Those 21 and older may ride without helmets if they complete a motorcycle safety course and submit proof of completion to the Department of Motor Vehicles. |
Nevada | All riders | All are covered | — |
New Hampshire | No law | No law | — |
New Jersey | All riders | All are covered | — |
New Mexico | 17 and younger | Mopeds not covered | Mopeds are defined as having an engine displacement less than 50 cc and maximum speeds of 30 mph. |
New York | All riders | Class C limited use motorcycles not covered | Class C limited use motorcycle, defined as having maximum speeds of 20 mph. |
North Carolina | All riders | All are covered | — |
North Dakota | 17 and younger | All are covered | North Dakota's motorcycle helmet use law covers all passengers traveling with operators who are covered by the law. |
Ohio | 17 and younger | All are covered | Ohio's motorcycle helmet use law covers all operators during the first year of licensure and all passengers of operators who are covered by the law |
Oklahoma | 17 and younger | Motor-driven cycles not covered | Motor-driven cycles are defined as having an engine displacement greater than 35cc but less than 150cc or electric motor that produces more than 1000 watts moped, defined by the state as having an engine displacement of 50cc or less, brake horsepower of 2 or less and maximum s… |
Oregon | All riders | All are covered | — |
Pennsylvania | 20 and younger | All are covered | Pennsylvania's motorcycle helmet use law covers all operators during the first two years of licensure unless the operator has completed the safety course approved by PennDOT or the Motorcycle Safety Foundation |
Rhode Island | 20 and younger | All are covered | Rhode Island's motorcycle helmet use law covers all passengers (regardless of age) and all operators during the first year of licensure (regardless of age) |
South Carolina | 20 and younger | Motorcycle three-wheel vehicles not covered | Motorcycle three-wheel vehicles are defined as having detachable side cars, saddle-type seat, and handlebars or motorcycle-type steering. |
South Dakota | 17 and younger | All are covered | — |
Tennessee | All riders | All are covered | — |
Texas | 20 and younger | All are covered | Texas exempts riders 21 or older if they can either show proof of successfully completing a motorcycle operator training and safety course or can show proof of having a medical insurance policy., A peace officer may not stop or detain a person who is the operator of or a pass… |
Utah | 20 and younger | All are covered | — |
Vermont | All riders | Motor-driven cycles not covered | Motor-driven cycles are defined as having an engine displacement of 50cc or less, brake horsepower of 2 or less, and maximum speed of 30 mph. |
Virginia | All riders | All are covered | — |
Washington | All riders | All are covered | — |
West Virginia | All riders | All are covered | — |
Wisconsin | 17 and younger | Mopeds not covered | Motorcycle helmet laws in Wisconsin cover operators with instructional/learner's permits., Mopeds are defined as having an engine displacement of 130cc or less, maximum speed of 30 mph, and fully operative pedals. |
Wyoming | 17 and younger | Mopeds not covered | Mopeds are defined as having an engine displacement of 50cc or less, brake horsepower of 2 or less, and maximum speed of 30 mph. |
Quick answers
- Where does this motorcycle helmet laws by state data come from?
- Rankodex compiles it from World Population Review and the primary sources it cites: Motorcycle Helmet Use Laws - IIHS HLDI.

















































