State rankings
Gift Card Laws by State
Gift Card Laws by State: compare 50 US states on 3 metrics.
Can User Turn in Gift Card for Cash?
5 values across 50 entries
Could User Be Charged Extra Fees?
7 values across 49 entries
Can State Collect Balance?
10 values across 50 entries
Data
Click a column to sort.
50 states
Alabama | No | Yes (after 1 year, no limit) | No |
Alaska | No | Yes (after 1 year, no limit) | Yes (3 years after exp. date) |
Arizona | No | Yes (after 1 year, no limit) | No |
Arkansas | No | Yes (after 2 years, no limit) | No |
California | Yes (balance less than $10) | Yes (after 3 years, $1/month) | No |
Colorado | Yes (balance less than $5) | Yes | Yes (after 5 years inactivity) |
Connecticut | No | No | No |
Delaware | No | Yes (after 1 year, no limit) | Yes (after 5 years inactivity) |
Florida | No | No | No |
Georgia | No | Yes (after 1 year, no limit) | Yes (after 5 years inactivity) |
Hawaii | No | No | Yes (after 5 years inactivity) |
Idaho | No | Yes (after 1 year, no limit) | Yes (after 5 yrs inactivity if balance > $50 and card lacks exp date) |
Illinois | No | No | Yes (5 years after exp. date) |
Indiana | No | Yes (after 1 year, no limit) | No |
Iowa | No | Yes (after 1 year, no limit) | Yes (after 3 years inactivity) |
Kansas | No | Yes (after 2 years, no limit) | No |
Kentucky | No | No | No |
Louisiana | No | No | Yes (after 3 years inactivity) |
Maine | Yes (balance less than $5) | No | Yes (after 5 years inactivity) |
Maryland | No | Yes (after 5 years, no limit) | No |
Massachusetts | Yes (after 90% balance redeemed) | No | No |
Michigan | No | No | No |
Minnesota | No | No | No |
Mississippi | No | Yes (after 1 year, no limit) | Yes (after 5 years inactivity) |
Missouri | No | Yes (after 1 year, no limit) | No |
Montana | Yes (balance less than $5) | No | Yes (after 5 years inactivity) |
Nebraska | No | Yes (after 1 year, no limit) | Yes (3 years after exp. date) |
Nevada | No | Yes (after 2 years, no limit) | Yes (60% when card expires) |
New Hampshire | No | No | Yes (after 5 yrs inactivity if balance > $100) |
New Jersey | Yes (balance less than $5) | Yes (after 3 years, no limit) | Yes (after 5 years inactivity) |
New Mexico | No | No | Yes (after 5 years inactivity) |
New York | No | Yes (after 2 years, no limit) | Yes (after 5 years inactivity) |
North Carolina | No | Yes (after 2 years, no limit) | Yes (3 years after exp. date) |
North Dakota | No | No | Yes (after 3 years inactivity) |
Ohio | No | Yes (after 3 years, no limit) | No |
Oklahoma | No | Yes (after 3 years, $1/month) | Yes (after 5 years inactivity) |
Oregon | Yes (balance less than $5) | No | No |
Pennsylvania | No | Yes (after 1 year, no limit) | Yes (2 years after exp. date) |
Rhode Island | Yes (balance less than $1) | No | No |
South Carolina | No | Yes (after 1 year, no limit) | No |
South Dakota | No | Yes (after 1 year, no limit) | Yes (after 5 years inactivity) |
Tennessee | No | Yes (after 3 years, no limit) | Yes (2 years after exp. date) |
Texas | No | — | Yes (2 years after exp. date) |
Utah | No | Yes (after 1 year, no limit) | No |
Vermont | Yes (balance less than $1) | No | No |
Virginia | No | Yes (after 1 year, no limit) | Yes (5 years after exp. date) |
Washington | Yes (balance less than $5) | Yes (after 3 years, $1/month) | Yes (3 years after exp. date) |
West Virginia | No | Yes (after 1 year, no limit) | Yes (after 3 years inactivity) |
Wisconsin | No | Yes (after 1 year, no limit) | No |
Wyoming | No | Yes (after 1 year, no limit) | Yes (after 3 yrs inactivity if balance > $100) |
Quick answers
- Where does this gift card laws by state data come from?
- Rankodex compiles it from World Population Review and the primary sources it cites: Gift Card Laws - ClassAction.org.

















































