State rankings
Final Paycheck Laws by State
Final Paycheck Laws by State: compare 51 US states on 2 metrics.
Data
Click a column to sort.
51 states
Alabama | No law | No law |
Alaska | Within 3 working days of termination | Next scheduled payday that’s at least 3 days after the employee gives notice |
Arizona | Whichever is first: within 7 working days or next payday | Next scheduled payday |
Arkansas | Next scheduled payday, or within 7 working days if the employee demands it. (employer will owe 2X the wages if not paid within 7 days) | Next scheduled payday |
California | Immediately (employees can recover penalties for every day wages are withheld) | Within 72 hours or immediately if the employee gave at least 72 hours’ notice |
Colorado | Immediately | Next scheduled payday |
Connecticut | Next business day | Next scheduled payday |
Delaware | Next scheduled payday | Next scheduled payday |
| Next business day | Whichever is first: within 7 days or next payday | |
Florida | No law | No law |
Georgia | No law | No law |
Hawaii | Immediately or next business day | Immediately if employee gives one pay period notice, or scheduled payday |
Idaho | Whichever is first: within 10 days or next payday. If employee provides a written request for earlier payment, within 48 hours of receiving the request. | Whichever is first: within 10 days or next payday. If employee provides a written request for earlier payment, within 48 hours of receiving the request. |
Illinois | Immediately if possible but no later than next scheduled payday | Immediately if possible but no later than next scheduled payday |
Indiana | Next scheduled payday | Next scheduled payday |
Iowa | Next scheduled payday | Next scheduled payday |
Kansas | Next scheduled payday | Next scheduled payday |
Kentucky | Whichever is later: within 14 days or next scheduled payday | Whichever is later: within 14 days or next scheduled payday |
Louisiana | Whichever is first: next scheduled payday or within 15 days | Whichever is first: next scheduled payday or within 15 days |
Maine | Whichever is first: next scheduled payday or within 2 weeks of employee’s demand | Whichever is first: next scheduled payday or within 2 weeks of employee’s demand |
Maryland | Next scheduled payday | Next scheduled payday |
Massachusetts | Immediately | Next scheduled payday |
Michigan | All wages earned are due as soon as the amount can be determined | All wages earned are due as soon as the amount can be determined |
Minnesota | Within 24 hours of demand | Next payday that’s at least 5 days after an employee’s last day but no more than 20 days after the last day worked. |
Mississippi | No law | No law |
Missouri | Immediately | No law |
Montana | Immediately (within 4 hours or the end of the same business day) | Whichever is first: next scheduled payday or within 15 days |
Nebraska | Whichever is first: next scheduled payday or within two weeks | Whichever is first: next scheduled payday or within two weeks |
Nevada | Within 3 days | Whichever is first: within 7 days or next payday |
New Hampshire | Within 72 hours | Next scheduled payday, or within 72 hours if the employee gives one period pay notice |
New Jersey | Next scheduled payday | Next scheduled payday |
New Mexico | Next scheduled payday (task, piece and commission wages due within 10 days). If wages are a fixed amount, then they are due within 5 days of termination. | Next scheduled payday |
New York | Next scheduled payday | Next scheduled payday |
North Carolina | Next scheduled payday, or before. Either by regular way wages are paid, or by mail. Employee’s decision. | Next scheduled payday, or before. Either by regular way wages are paid, or by mail. Employee’s decision. |
North Dakota | Next scheduled payday | Next scheduled payday |
Ohio | Whichever is first: next scheduled payday or within 15 days | Whichever is first: next scheduled payday or within 15 days |
Oklahoma | Next scheduled payday, or within 14 days, whichever is later | Next scheduled payday, or within 14 days, whichever is later |
Oregon | By the end of the next business day | Immediately if the employee gave 48 hours’ notice, otherwise within 5 days, or the next payday – whichever comes first |
Pennsylvania | Next scheduled payday (If the employee requests the final check to be mailed, then the company is required to do so). | Next scheduled payday (If the employee requests the final check to be mailed, then the company is required to do so). |
Rhode Island | Next scheduled payday | Next scheduled payday |
South Carolina | Within 48 hours or next scheduled payday not to exceed 30 days | Within 48 hours or next scheduled payday not to exceed 30 days |
South Dakota | Next scheduled payday, or the employer can hold the final pay until company property is returned. | Next scheduled payday, or the employer can hold the final pay until company property is returned. |
Tennessee | Within 21 days or the next regular payday whichever occurs later | Within 21 days or the next regular payday whichever occurs later |
Texas | Within 6 calendar days | Next scheduled payday |
Utah | Within 24 hours | Next scheduled payday |
Vermont | Within 72 hours from the time of discharge | Whichever is first: next scheduled payday or if there is no regular payday, then the next Friday. |
Virginia | Next scheduled payday | Next scheduled payday |
Washington | Next scheduled payday | Next scheduled payday |
West Virginia | Next scheduled payday | Next scheduled payday |
Wisconsin | Next scheduled payday | Next scheduled payday |
Wyoming | Next scheduled payday | Next scheduled payday |
Quick answers
- Where does this final paycheck laws by state data come from?
- Rankodex compiles it from World Population Review and the primary sources it cites: Final Paycheck Laws By State - Paycor.

















































