State rankings

States Where FGM is Legal

States Where FGM is Legal: compare 51 US states on 8 metrics.

Crime & SafetyLaw51 states · 8 metricsUpdated Mar 14, 2023Original page
2 sources

Legality

2 values across 51 entries

Notes

1 value across 3 entries

Only Appliesto Minors Under18 Unless Otherwise Specified

4 values across 51 entries

Parent Guardianand Circumciser Subject Prosecution

2 values across 51 entries

Vacation Provision Banning Travel Outside The State for FGM

2 values across 51 entries

Cultural Ritual Reason And Or Consent Not A Defense

2 values across 51 entries

Data

Click a column to sort.

51 states
AlabamaNo anti-FGM legislation——
AlaskaNo anti-FGM legislation——
ArizonaIllegalImprisonment 5.25 – 35 years and fine of not less than $25,000—
ArkansasIllegalImprisonment 3-10 years—
CaliforniaIllegalImprisonment 1 – 6 years—
ColoradoIllegalImprisonment minimum 4 years—
ConnecticutNo anti-FGM legislation——
DelawareIllegalImprisonment up to 5 years—
District of ColumbiaNo anti-FGM legislationImprisonment up to 10 years or a fine up to $25,000Proposed Legislation Only
FloridaIllegalImprisonment up to 15 years and/or fine up to $10,000—
GeorgiaIllegalImprisonment 5 – 20 years—
HawaiiNo anti-FGM legislationImprisonment for an indeterminate termProposed Legislation Only
IdahoIllegalImprisonment up to life—
IllinoisIllegalImprisonment 4 – 30 years and a fine up to $25,000—
IndianaIllegalImprisonment 3-16 years and a fine up to $10,000—
IowaIllegalImprisonment for up to 5 years and fine of $750-$7,500—
KansasIllegalImprisonment 89-100 months—
KentuckyIllegalImprisonment 10-20 years—
LouisianaIllegalImprisonment up to 15 years—
MaineNo anti-FGM legislation——
MarylandIllegalImprisonment up to 5 years and/or fine up to $5,000—
MassachusettsIllegalImprisonment 2.5-10 years and fine up to $10,000—
MichiganIllegalImprisonment up to 15 years—
MinnesotaIllegalImprisonment up to 5 years and/or fine up to $10,000—
MississippiNo anti-FGM legislation——
MissouriIllegalImprisonment 5 – 15 years—
MontanaNo anti-FGM legislation——
NebraskaNo anti-FGM legislation——
NevadaIllegalImprisonment 2 – 10 years and/or fine up to $10,000—
New HampshireIllegalImprisonment up to 7 years—
New JerseyIllegalImprisonment 3 – 5 years—
New MexicoNo anti-FGM legislation——
New YorkIllegalImprisonment up to 4 years—
North CarolinaIllegalImprisonment up to 15 -16 years—
North DakotaIllegalImprisonment up to 5 years and /or fine up to $10,000—
OhioIllegalImprisonment 2-8 years and/or a fine up to $15,000, and an additional fine up to $25,000—
OklahomaIllegalImprisonment 3 years to life and /or fine up to $20,000—
OregonIllegalImprisonment up to 10 years—
PennsylvaniaIllegalImprisonment for more than 10 years—
Rhode IslandIllegalImprisonment for more than 10 years—
South CarolinaIllegalImprisonment up to 20 years and/or fine up to $20,000—
South DakotaIllegalImprisonment up to 10 years and fine up to $20,000—
TennesseeIllegalImprisonment 2 – 12 years and /or fine up to $5,000—
TexasIllegalImprisonment 6 months-2 years and /or fine up to $10,000—
UtahIllegalImprisonment up to 5 years and/or fine up to $5,000—
VermontIllegalImprisonment up to 5 years and/or fine up to $25,000—
VirginiaIllegalImprisonment up to life and/or a fine up to $100,000—
WashingtonNo anti-FGM legislationImprisonment up to 10 years and/or fine of $20,000Proposed Legislation Only
West VirginiaIllegalImprisonment 2 – 10 years & fine $1-5,000—
WisconsinIllegalImprisonment 6 years and/or fine up to $10,000—
WyomingIllegalImprisonment 5-25 years—

Quick answers

Where does this states where fgm is legal data come from?
Rankodex compiles it from World Population Review and the primary sources it cites: Equality Now; AHA Foundation.