State rankings
CME Requirements by State
CME Requirements by State: compare 46 US states on 6 metrics.
Avg. Hours Per Year
16 values across 57 entries
CME Total Years
9 values across 58 entries
Data
Click a column to sort.
46 states
Alabama | 12 | 12 | 12 |
Alaska | 50 | 25 | 50 |
Arizona | — | 20 (MD), 20 (DO) | 40 (MD), 20 (DO) |
Arkansas | Not specified | 20 | 20 |
California | 100 (MD), 60 (AOA 1-A or B) (DO) | 25 (MD), 50 (DO) | 100 (MD), 150 (DO) |
Connecticut | — | 25 | 50 |
Delaware | 40 | 20 | 40 |
| 50 | 25 | 50 | |
Florida | 40 (MD), 20 (AOA Category 1-A) (DO) | 20 (MD), 20 (DO) | 40 (MD), 40 (DO) |
Georgia | 40 | 20 | 40 |
Hawaii | 40 | 20 | 40 |
Idaho | 40 | 20 | 40 |
Illinois | 60 | 50 | 150 |
Iowa | 40 | 20 | 40 |
Kansas | 20 | 50 | 50 |
Kentucky | 30 | 20 | 60 |
Louisiana | 20 | 20 | 20 |
Maine | 40 (MD), 40 (AOA 1-A or B) (DO) | 50 (MD), 50 (DO) | 100 (MD), 100 (DO) |
Maryland | 50 | 25 | 50 |
Massachusetts | 40 (40 AOA 1-A for DOs) | 50 | 100 |
Michigan | 75 (MD)| 60 (AOA 1-A or B) (DO) | 50 (MD)| 50 (DO) | 150 (MD), 150 (DO) |
Minnesota | 75 | 25 | 75 |
Mississippi | 40 (DOs: AOA 1-A) | 20 | 40 |
Missouri | 50 | 25 | 50 |
Nebraska | 50 | 25 | 50 |
Nevada | 40 (MD), 10 (AOA 1-A) (DO) | 20 (MD), 35 (DO) | 40 (MD), 35 (DO) |
New Hampshire | 60 | 50 | 150 |
New Jersey | 40 | 50 | 100 |
New Mexico | 75 (MD), 75 (DO) | 25 (MD), 25 (DO) | 75 (MD), 75 (DO) |
North Carolina | 60 | 50 | 150 |
North Dakota | 60 | 20 | 60 |
Ohio | 40 (DOs: AMA 1-A or B) | 50 | 100 |
Oklahoma | 60 (MD), 16 (AOA 1-A or B) (DO) | 20 (MD), 16 (DO) | 60 (MD), 16 (DO) |
Oregon | 60 | — | 60 |
Pennsylvania | 20 (MD), 20 (AOA 1-A) | 50 (MD), 50 (DO) | 100 (MD), 100 (DO) |
Rhode Island | 40 | 20 | 40 |
South Carolina | 40 | 20 | 40 |
Tennessee | 40 | 20 (MD), 20 (DO) | 40 (MD), 40 (DO) |
Texas | 12 (12 AOA 1-A for DOs) | 24 | 24 |
Utah | 40 | 20 | 40 |
Vermont | — | 15 (DO) | 30 (DO) |
Virginia | 30 | 30 | 60 |
Washington | Not specified (MD), 60 (AOA 1-A or B) (DO) | 50 (MD), 50 (DO) | 200 (MD), 150 (DO) |
West Virginia | 50 (MD), 16 (AOA 1-A or B) (DO) | 25 (MD), 16 (DO) | 50 (MD), 32 (DO) |
Wisconsin | 30 | 15 | 30 |
Wyoming | 60 | 20 | 60 |
Quick answers
- Where does this cme requirements by state data come from?
- Rankodex compiles it from World Population Review and the primary sources it cites: State CME Licensure Requirements - CE Central; Oregon CME Requirements 2022 - GINLIB.












































