State rankings
Clothing Laws by State
Clothing Laws by State: compare 51 US states on 4 metrics.
CultureLaw51 states · 4 metricsUpdated Mar 8, 2025Original page
11 sources
- Topless Laws - Go Topless
- Free the nipple: Going topless effectively legalized in six states - New York Post
- Top Freedom in the United States - Wiki
- Here's Where It's Legal for Women to Go Topless in the U.S. - Time
- The nipple is freed in southern Utah after court ruling on toplessness - Fox
- Free the Nipple: A History of a Hidden Movement - HyperAllergic
- FindLaw
- WomensLaw
- Colorado Legal Defense Group
- Kohn & Yager
- SD Legislative Research Council
Top Freedom in Effect
3 values across 51 entries
Data
Click a column to sort.
50 states
Alabama | Class A misdemeanor (1st & 2nd offense), Class C felony (3rd offense onward) |
Alaska | Class A or Class B misdemeanor; or Class B or Class C felony, depending upon age of victim and offender's conduct during the act. |
Arizona | Class 1 misdemeanor Class 6 or Class 3 felony |
Arkansas | Class A misdemeanor (1st-3rd conviction), Class D felony (4th-5th conviction within 10 years of prior), Class C felony (6th conviction onward) |
California | Misdemeanor (most cases), Felony (2nd offense onward or if entry onto premises was w/out consent) |
Colorado | Class 1 petty offense (1st offense), Class 1 misdemeanor (2nd offense onward) |
Connecticut | Class B misdemeanor |
Delaware | Class A misdemeanor, Unclassified misdemeanor |
Florida | Misdemeanor of the first degree, Felony of the third degree, Felony of the second degree |
Georgia | Misdemeanor, Felony (3rd conviction onward) |
Hawaii | Petty misdemeanor |
Idaho | Misdemeanor, Felony (2nd conviction onward) |
Illinois | Class A misdemeanor, Class 4 felony (3rd conviction onward), Class 4 felony (if committed within 500 feet of a school) |
Indiana | Class C misdemeanor, Class B misdemeanor, Class A misdemeanor, Level 6 felony (2nd conviction onward) |
Iowa | Serious misdemeanor, Aggravated misdemeanor (Masturbating in a child's presence) |
Kansas | Class B nonperson misdemeanor, Severity level 9, person felony (if victim is under age 16) |
Kentucky | Class B misdemeanor (1st- or 2nd-degree indecent exposure), Class A misdemeanor, Class D felony (3rd conviction for 1st-degree indecent exposure) |
Louisiana | Felony |
Maine | Class E crime (1st & 2nd conviction), Class D crime (3rd conviction onward), Class D crime (Visual sexual aggression against a child), Class C crime (Visual sexual aggression against a child under 12) |
Maryland | Misdemeanor |
Massachusetts | Misdemeanor (Indecent exposure) Felony (Open and gross lewdness and lascivious behavior) |
Michigan | Misdemeanor |
Minnesota | Misdemeanor, Gross misdemeanor or Felony, Dependent upon victim's age, offender's prior, and whether offender restricted the victim's movement. |
Mississippi | Misdemeanor (1st & 2nd offense), Felony (3rd offense onward) |
Missouri | Class B misdemeanor, Class A misdemeanor, Class E felony or Class D felony (Sexual misconduct involving a child) |
Montana | Misdemeanor (1st & 2nd offense), Felony (3rd offense onward), Class D felony (If committed in presence of child under age 18) |
Nebraska | Class II misdemeanor |
Nevada | Gross misdemeanor (1st offense), Class D felony (2nd offense onward), Class D felony (If committed in presence of child under age 18) |
New Hampshire | Misdemeanor, Class B felony (If committed in presence of child under age 16), Class B felony (2nd conviction onward), Class A felony (Two or more previous felony convictions) |
New Jersey | Disorderly persons offense, Crime of the 4th degree (Seen by a child under age 13), Crime of the 4th degree (Seen by person w/ a "mental disease or defect") |
New Mexico | Misdemeanor (Indecent exposure), Fourth degree felony (aggravated indecent exposure) |
New York | Class B misdemeanor, Class A misdemeanor |
North Carolina | Class 2 misdemeanor, Class H Felony (If in presence of a child under age 16) |
North Dakota | Class A misdemeanor (1st offense), Class C felony (2nd conviction onward), Class C felony (On or within 50 feet of school property), Class B felony (Priors and on or within 50 feet of school property) |
Ohio | Misdemeanor of the fourth degree, Misdemeanor of the third degree, Misdemeanor of the second degree, Misdemeanor of the first degree, Felony of the fifth degree (3+ priors and a minor is present) |
Oklahoma | Felony |
Oregon | Class A misdemeanor (Public or private indecency), Class C felony (Repeat offenders) |
Pennsylvania | Misdemeanor of the second degree, Misdemeanor in the first degree (if victim is under age 16) |
Rhode Island | Misdemeanor (1st offense), Felony (2nd offense onward) |
South Carolina | Class A Misdemeanor |
South Dakota | Class 2 misdemeanor |
Tennessee | Class B misdemeanor, Class A misdemeanor (3rd offense onward) |
Texas | Class B misdemeanor (Indecent exposure), Felony of the third degree (Indecency with a child) |
Utah | Class B misdemeanor, Class A misdemeanor, Third degree felony (Repeat offenders or if child was present) |
Vermont | Misdemeanor (Open lewdness), Felony (Open lewd and lascivious conduct), FElony (Lewd and lascivious conduct with a child) |
Virginia | Class 1 misdemeanor, Class 6 or Class 4 Felony (3rd offense on or if child is present) |
Washington | Misdemeanor, Gross misdemeanor, Class C felony |
West Virginia | Misdemeanor, Felony (Third or subsequent offense) |
Wisconsin | Class A misdemeanor |
Wyoming | Misdemeanor |
Quick answers
- Where does this clothing laws by state data come from?
- Rankodex compiles it from World Population Review and the primary sources it cites: Topless Laws - Go Topless; Free the nipple: Going topless effectively legalized in six states - New York Post; Top Freedom in the United States - Wiki; Here's Where It's Legal for Women to Go Topless in the U.S. - Time.

















































