State rankings

Bad Check Laws by State

Maryland has the highest Service Fees (USD) ($35.00), followed by Ohio ($30.00) and Washington ($30.00). West Virginia has the lowest ($10.00).

Service Fees (USD)Better directionWhether a higher or a lower value is better. A green arrow means higher is better, a red arrow means lower is better, and no arrow means neither.More in the glossary →
50 of 51 states

Service Fees (USD)

Green is better, red is worse (lower is better). Click a place to highlight it.

Loading map…

All 50 ranked

Best first.

Distribution Median and middle halfThe median is the middle value: half of places are above it, half below. The middle half is the range holding the central 50% of places.More in the glossary →

Each dot is one state; the lines mark the median and the middle half.

Median
$25.00
Middle half $21.25 – $30.00
Average
$25.20
50 states
Lowest (best)
$10.00
West Virginia
Highest (worst)
$35.00
Maryland

Data

Click a column to sort, a row to highlight that place on the charts.

50 states · # = rank by Service Fees (USD)
#
1West Virginia<$500>$500$10.00—
2New YorkAll amounts—$20.00Fee may be lesser amount if contracted.
2North CarolinaAll amounts>$2,000$20.00—
2New Jersey<$200>$200$20.00—
2Tennessee<$100>$100$20.00—
2IndianaAll other amounts>$2,500 if property acquired was a motor vehicle$20.00Fee rises to 5% for checks of more than $400, up to a maximum fee of $250.
2Missouri<$150>$150$20.00—
2MinnesotaAll amounts—$20.00For checks below $30, fee may be actual check amount instead.
2Utah<$300>$300$20.00—
2Iowa>$20>$20$20.00Fee rises to 5% for checks of more than $400.
2New Mexico<$25>$25$20.00—
2IdahoAll amounts—$20.00—
2North DakotaAll amountsMay be felony if repeat offense$20.00—
14CaliforniaAt discretion of courtAll amounts$25.00Fee is $25 for first check, $35 for each subsequent check.
14TexasAll amounts—$25.00—
14Florida<$50>$50$25.00Fee rises to 5% for checks of more than $500.
14Pennsylvania<$75,000>$75,000$25.00Fee provided that prior written notice was given at time check was issued.
14IllinoisAll amounts>$150 if subsequent offense$25.00Fee may instead be all costs, including attorneys fees.
14Georgia<$500>$500$25.00Fee rises to 5% for checks of more than $500.
14Michigan<$50>$50$25.00—
14Virginia<$200>$200$25.00—
14ArizonaAll amounts—$25.00Bank charge may be subbed for fee.
14Massachusetts<$100>$100$25.00—
14South CarolinaAll amounts—$25.00—
14Kentucky<$3000>$300$25.00—
14Louisiana<$100>$100$25.00Fee rises to 5% for checks of more than $500.
14Oregon<$75>$75$25.00—
14Nevada<$100>$100$25.00—
14Arkansas<$200>$200$25.00—
14Maine—All Amounts$25.00—
14Rhode Island<$100>$100$25.00—
14Delaware<$1,500>$1,500$25.00—
14Alaska<$500>$500$25.00—
14VermontAll amounts—$25.00—
35Ohio<$150>$150$30.00Fee becomes 10% for checks over $300.
35Washington<$250->$250$30.00—
35Colorado$100 to $500>$500$30.00Fee may be revised to equal 20% of check amount.
35Wisconsin<$1,000>$1,000$30.00—
35AlabamaAll Amounts—$30.00If bank charge is more than $30, fee amount rises to equal bank charge.
35Oklahoma<$50>$50$30.00—
35Connecticut>$1,000>$1,000$30.00—
35Kansas<$500>$500$30.00—
35Mississippi<$100>$100$30.00—
35Nebraska<$300>$300$30.00—
35HawaiiAll amounts—$30.00—
35New Hampshire<$500>$500$30.00—
35Montana<$300>$300$30.00—
35South Dakota<$500>$500$30.00—
35Wyoming<$500>$500$30.00—
50Maryland<$500>$500$35.00—

What correlates with Service Fees (USD)?

Pearson r against 2,092 other state metrics sharing at least 30 states. Correlation is not causation.

Higher together

Places that have a higher Service Fees (USD) tend to score higher on these

  1. Total Crime CostMost Dangerous Cities by State
    r = +0.44 · moderate · n = 44
    Plot
  2. Asian Alone % RegisteredVoters by Race by State
    r = +0.38 · moderate · n = 50
    Plot
  3. Crime Cost per CapitaMost Dangerous Cities by State
    r = +0.37 · moderate · n = 44
    Plot
  4. Time In MonthsDating to Engagement Time by State
    r = +0.34 · moderate · n = 48
    Plot
  5. Violent Crime Rate per 100kMost Dangerous Cities by State
    r = +0.34 · moderate · n = 44
    Plot
  6. % Voted 35-44Young Voters by State
    r = +0.33 · moderate · n = 45
    Plot

Opposite directions

Places that have a higher Service Fees (USD) tend to score lower on these

  1. Senate RepublicansMost Democratic States
    r = −0.45 · moderate · n = 49
    Plot
  2. Internship Hours Required for LPCLPC Requirements by State
    r = −0.44 · moderate · n = 39
    Plot
  3. CoatElectricity Generation by State
    r = −0.40 · moderate · n = 39
    Plot
  4. Flyover RatioFlyover States
    r = −0.39 · moderate · n = 44
    Plot
  5. Minimum Age for Sports BettingGambling Age by State
    r = −0.35 · moderate · n = 32
    Plot
  6. Civil Cases (Written)Statute of Limitations by State
    r = −0.33 · moderate · n = 50
    Plot

Quick answers

Which state has the highest Service Fees (USD)?
Maryland has the highest Service Fees (USD), at $35.00, followed by Ohio ($30.00) and Washington ($30.00).
Which state has the lowest Service Fees (USD)?
West Virginia has the lowest Service Fees (USD), at $10.00.
What is the median Service Fees (USD) across US states?
The median is $25.00 across the 50 US states with data.
Where does this bad check laws by state data come from?
Rankodex compiles it from World Population Review and the primary sources it cites: Stevens & Ricci; Communications Credit & Recovery; SEllmann & Ellmann P.C; MurrayPhillips P.A.