State rankings

Anti-Mask Laws by State

Anti-Mask Laws by State: compare 51 US states on 5 metrics.

State Has Anti-Mask Law

2 values across 51 entries

COVID Mask Requirements

2 values across 50 entries

Data

Click a column to sort.

51 states
AlabamaYesCurrent law (enacted in 1949) — general ban in public space:| This is part of a law against loitering; the law makes it illegal for someone to be “masked, loiter, remain, or congregate in a public place, with exemptions for masquerade parties, public parades, and theater chara…
AlaskaNo—
ArizonaYesCurrent law (enacted in 2018) - in commission of a crime:| This law enhances penalties if a “mask or other disguise” is worn “during or immediately following the commission” of a felony crime, amending previous guidelines from 2007.
ArkansasNo—
CaliforniaYesCurrent law (enacted in 1873) - in commission of a crime:| This law makes it illegal to wear a “mask, false whiskers, or any personal disguise (whether complete or partial)” when “evading or escaping discovery, recognition, or identification in the commission of any public off…
ColoradoNo—
ConnecticutYesCurrent law (enacted in 1949) - while depriving another of their rights:, This law makes it illegal to wear a mask “with the intent” to deprive another of “any rights, privileges or immunities” on account of race, sex, gender identity, disability, etc.+1
DelawareYesCurrent law 1 (enacted in 1953) - while congregating in public and depriving another of rights:| Part of a disorderly conduct law, this provision makes it illegal to wear masks or face coverings “while congregating with other persons in a public place” and depriving others of …
District of ColumbiaYesCurrent law (enacted in 2024) – while in commission of a crime:| As part of a sweeping anti-crime law called “Secure D.C.,” this provision makes it illegal for anyone over 16 years of age to wear a mask or face covering “to avoid identification” while committing a dangerous or…
FloridaYesCurrent laws A (enacted 1951, sections 13-15) — general mask bans:, These laws make it illegal for anyone over 16 years of age to wear a mask or face covering in public outdoors, in public buildings, and on someone else’s private property+1
GeorgiaYesCurrent law (enacted 1953) — general mask ban:, This law makes it illegal to wear a mask or face covering over 16 years of age in public settings or on the private property of another. With exemptions for holidays, trade, theater, gas masks.+1
HawaiiNo—
IdahoNo—
IllinoisNo—
IndianaNo—
IowaNo—
KansasNo—
KentuckyNoCurrent law — Louisville/Jefferson County (enacted in 1983, with discussion of “reinforcing” in October 2024):| This law makes it illegal to wear a mask or face covering in a public place if 16 years and older, with exceptions for holidays, theater, trades, etc. but not health.
LouisianaYesCurrent law (enacted in 1924) — general ban with medical and other exemptions:| This law bans masks, face coverings, or facial disguises in public places, with exceptions for Mardi Gras and similar, Halloween, performances, religious coverings, helmets, and “medical purposes o…
MaineNo—
MarylandNo—
MassachusettsYesCurrent law — while obstructing police:| This law is often missed on lists of mask bans because it doesn’t mention masks. It does make it illegal to “disguise” with “intent to obstruct the due execution of the law, or to intimidate, hinder or interrupt an officer or other pers…
MichiganYesCurrent law (enacted in 1931) — in commission of a crime:, This law makes it illegal to wear a mask or face covering “for the purpose of facilitating the commission of a crime.”+1
MinnesotaYesCurrent law (enacted in 1963, with exemptions in 1995) — general ban with medical and other exemptions:, This law makes it illegal to conceal identity with a mask or disguise in a public place, with exemptions for religious beliefs, entertainment, protection from weather, or …
MississippiNo—
MissouriNo—
MontanaNo—
NebraskaNo—
NevadaNo—
New HampshireNo—
New JerseyNo—
New MexicoYesCurrent law (enacted in 1953) — while obstructing police:| This law makes it illegal to conceal identity or disguise oneself “with the intent to obstruct the due execution of the law or with intent to intimidate, hinder or interrupt any public officer or any other person in a …
New YorkYesCurrent law — Nassau County (enacted in August 2024) — general ban with medical and other exemptions:| This law makes it illegal to wear masks or facial coverings with “intent” to conceal identity, with exemptions for “health and safety of the wearer,” religion, and celebratio…
North CarolinaYesCurrent laws (enacted in June 2024, to take effect in October) — general ban with exemptions:| Five state laws make it illegal to mask in various public and private settings, with the current law offering exemptions for holidays, theater, trades, motorcycles, and “any person w…
North DakotaYesCurrent law (enacted in 2017) — while in commission of a crime:| This law makes it illegal to mask during a criminal offense with intent to intimidate, threaten, abuse, or harass any other individual; to evade discovery or identification; or for the purpose of concealment afte…
OhioYesCurrent law (enacted in 1953) — while in commission of a misdemeanor with others so masked:| This law makes it illegal to “unite with two or more others to commit a misdemeanor while wearing white caps, masks, or other disguise.” The law is titled “Prohibition against conspira…
OklahomaYesCurrent law A (enacted in 1923) — while in commission of a crime or to harass:| This law makes it illegal to wear a mask or face covering “during the commission of a crime or for the purpose of coercion, intimidation or harassment” with exemptions for childhood pranks, masquer…
OregonNo—
PennsylvaniaNo—
Rhode IslandNo—
South CarolinaYesCurrent law (enacted in 1951) — general ban with exemptions:, This law makes it illegal for anyone over 16 to wear a mask or face coverings in a public space or while demanding entrance to a private space, with exemptions for holiday, trade, theater, gas mask.+1
South DakotaNo—
TennesseeYesCurrent law (enacted in 1868) — while intimidating others from exercising rights:| As part of a law against harassment, intimidation, and injury of people by groups based on race, religion, and background, this law makes it illegal to wear a mask while committing “the offense …
TexasNo—
UtahNo—
VermontNo—
VirginiaYesCurrent law (enacted in 1950) — general ban with medical exemption requiring documentation:| This law makes it illegal for anyone over 16 years of age to wear a mask or face covering with exemptions for trades, theater, or “bona fide medical reasons upon the advice of a licens…
WashingtonNo—
West VirginiaYesCurrent law (enacted in 1988) — general ban with exemptions:| This law makes it illegal for anyone over 16 years of age to wear masks or face coverings, with exemptions for holiday costumes, trade, theater, masquerades, “civil defense drills,” or “for the sole purpose of prote…
WisconsinNo—
WyomingNo—

Quick answers

Where does this anti-mask laws by state data come from?
Rankodex compiles it from World Population Review and the primary sources it cites: Mask bans and proposed bans by state - The Sick Times; Anti-Mask Laws, COVID-19, and the First Amendment - International Center for Non-Profit Law; State by State Face Mask Mandates - AARP; Facing Your Face Mask Duties – A List of Statewide Orders - Littler Mendelson.